Girls Night #1 -A New Monthly Tradition

girls

Last night was a big day for Oklahoma men everywhere.  It was the first Sooner’s home football game.  Testosterone was busting out all over town.  I went to Wal-Mart to get some groceries, and the shoppers were swimming in a sea of Crimson and Cream clothing.  Men were pushing shopping carts full of chips, beer and all kinds of manly-man snacks with the purpose of either heading off to Norman to the game, or camping out in their favorite arm-chair to watch men run after pigskin all day at home.  It’s a sacred day in Sooner- land for men (and women) here in Oklahoma.

It’s also an amazing time to have a Girls Night In.

Mr. Wonderful was heading off to the game with Chris, and so Melisa came over and we spent the day cooking up women-food and we invited over some amazing ladies to share it with us.   Angela, Melanie and Cindy showed up for a night of fun.

After doing my healthy food plan for the entire week, I was ready for my one cheat day.

I wasn’t disappointed.

Let me stop here and tell you, if you haven’t had a Girls Night In (or Out), you haven’t lived.

I’m serious.

It’s a proven fact that females need to get out about twice the number of words per day than men do.  Since we live with men all day, every day, well might I just suggest that we women have a LOT of stored up words that need be to released?

Here’s a little taste of what we had.

Appetizers and drinks began out in the living room.

glass2

Mmmmm….Crostini and two toppings.

bruschetta

One was my Bruschetta and the other my Basil Artichoke Pesto Spread.

I must apologize for the horrible pictures.  We had mood lighting with candles going and the lighting was not ideal for pictures.  I was focusing on quality girl time!

We also had a tiered tray of these wonders.

tieredtray

Mmmmmmmmm.

skewer2


Can you say yummmm?  Caprese Salad Skewers.

And this variation…

skewer4

Heaven.  Pure heaven.  Mediterranean Salad Skewers.

This fruit, cheese and nut platter was a huge hit.

brie2

Oven-warmed and gooey Brie cheese on fancy crackers with a little pepper jelly on top?   Who cares about fruit and nuts anyway?

It’s one of my new favorite things.

For dinner, Melisa made this salad.

salad1

It was so delicious.  Hard salami wrapped in provolone with a cute little cherry tomato (fresh from my garden) tucked inside.

salad2

She also threw in some leftover artichoke hearts from the skewers and this wonderful stuff called California hot mix – a spicy vegetable- marinated mixture of cauliflower, carrots, onions and jalepenos.  We whipped up a fresh Italian dressing to pour over top of this Antipasto style Salad.

Melisa served the salad with warmed Ciabatta bread that we dipped in olive oil, balsamic vinegar and dried italian herbs.

salad4

Melisa also made this.

manicotti

Baked Manicotti.  Oh mercy, this was SO good.  Cheesy goodness stuffed manicotti tubes covered in marinara sauce and topped with more cheese.  I am going to make this soon for the family.

Now, please don’t take this the wrong way.  These are my spiritual friends from our incredible church.  We love the thought of Jesus laughing along with us as we do life.

The featured guest of honor tonight and everynight?

Laughing Jesus.

jesus

If you don’t believe in a laughing Jesus…leave a comment, I’d love to share my walk of joy with you.  He laughs with me everyday.  Enough said.

No Girls Night In would be complete without dessert.

Specifically chocolate.

7

Or more specifically, individual Molten Chocolate Lava Cakes.

The food was devine, the company fantastic and we have made a pledge to do this once a month.

Because we need to get our words out.

And because girls need to be girls.

And because there is  more good ladies-food to be had.

glass3

Oh we had one party crasher.  Molly.

The female version of our Max.  She wanted to join the women fun.

dogs

Max is in love.

kissfish

Plan your own Women’s Night In.  You can’t believe the fun to be had!

~Katie

8 Comments

Filed under Family

8 responses to “Girls Night #1 -A New Monthly Tradition

  1. First of all, thank you so much for visiting and commenting on my blog today. We love our cooking club.

    Second, the food you ladies prepared is just beautiful. You all are much more fancy with your food than we are. Ha!! It really looks delicious.

    And, lastly, BOOMER SOONER!!!

  2. check out our Girls Night In at http://cjsglassact.wordpress.com/
    thanks for the great idea. LU

  3. NannyRuth

    Girls’ Night In sounds like a good idea. You gals sure have a lot of ambition to fix those dishes so beautiful!

  4. Fran J

    Girls need to celebrate and have fun together, too.
    We had a salad luncheon at work (girls only), and the guys begged to join us. They saw all the good food we brought and didn’t eat.
    The dishes you showed are outstanding. The salad presentation was unique. Looks like you all had a great time.

  5. I love that idea. It’s always good to treat yourselves with good friends. What a neat way to fix a salad too.
    Looks like a good time was had by all.

  6. Melisa

    Girls Night In might have been one the most fun times I have had in a long time. Hope a lot of new girls will join us in October.

  7. I have to take my hat off to the women for making an awesome spread of food for their woman’s night in. I was fortunate to come home ‘after the OU game’ and sample some of the food they prepared and I must say it was awesome! Now guys, don’t get me wrong, the foot-long corn dog and the slice of pepperoni pizza was the ticket for my stomach at the game…but what can I say, the chocolate moltan cake with ice-cream was “sweet”!!

  8. What a great idea to have Jesus there laughing with you! Isn’t He great?

Leave a comment