Brown Sugared Balsamic Mushrooms

 

Oh my gosh.  If you are a mushroom lover, you must make this.

Must, must, must!

Mr. Wonderful grilled up a couple of sirloin steaks,  and while he was doing that, I was doing this…

Get  one package of button or cremini mushrooms. 

You can buy the sliced ones, but I preferred them chunkier and meatier, so I b ones and quartered them up.

In a large skillet, melt 2 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of olive oil together.  When the butter bubbles, swirl it all together. 

Dump in your mushrooms.

Hello little babies that I love!

Sauté these around for about two minutes, stirring often,  then pour in one cup of beef broth or stock.  Stock is richer and more flavorful, but broth will work!

Also add in 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar.

And also add in 1/3 cup of brown sugar.

Season all this up with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper.

Now you just stir this all up and let it simmer.

This process will take about 10 minutes, but you want the sauce to reduce down and get all syrupy and thick.

The flavors are going to intensify and cook into the mushrooms. 

And it’s going to be a lovely, lovely thing.

If your syrup gets too thick, just add a little bit more beef broth and stir it up.

Pour into a serving dish to spoon over your steak.

And then serve up your steak and ladle some of these babies over top. Make sure you get plenty of sauce as well.

Oh my goodness, is this good…yes it is very good.

I think adding in some chopped fresh rosemary would be wonderful next time…and speaking of next time…

I can’t wait to make it again.  Would steak two nights in a row be okay?

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Brown Sugared Balsamic Mushrooms

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Brown Sugared Balsamic Mushrooms

  1. Oh my goodness. I love mushrooms and that looks incredible!!

  2. I WILL be making this. I LOVE mushrooms!

    Thanks for posting the recipe.

  3. I will be making steak this weekend just to pair these with it. YUM!

  4. teenykitchen

    *drool* I heart mushrooms! I can literally taste this with steak and mashed potatoes!

  5. I love dishes like these: caramelised, lightly sweet, sticky, flavourful – though I’d typically pair them with rice like the awesome Asian I am! 😉

    Wei-Wei

    • dishinanddishes

      Overconcerned – Bet it would be awesome on rice – you’re way too food knowledgable for your age! You need a cookbook!

Leave a comment