Honey & Lime Glazed Salmon – Featuring Mr. Wonderful

26

Mr. Wonderful was home one day this week, and called and asked if there was anything that sounded good for lunch.

Melisa and I started to try to do healthy-eating this week, and she had told me about a great salmon recipe they’d had from the Body for Life recipe site.

It had some of my favorite things in it like lime, honey and cilantro, so I e-mailed him the link and then went back to work.

When I got home, Mr. Wonderful had this dish ready, complete with brown rice and a fantastic salad of spinach, red onion, and some of our newly picked heirloom cherry tomatoes.

I’m telling you that no restaurant could have been better for lunch.

Oh yeah.  And he took pictures for me too.

Introducing Mr. Wonderful.

Fisherman extraordinaire.

fish1

kissfish

**Note from Katie.  (Shudder) Man, catfish are some ugly mugs!

Mr. Wonderful -watersports expert.

dscn6938

Mr. Wonderful is also an awesome guy who loves his family and a fantastic husband to boot.

DSCN6238

So Mr. Wonderful, take it away.

Your Ingredients of Food Love:

ingred

Salmon filets, honey, soy sauce, lime, ginger, garlic, red pepper flakes and cilantro.

In a bowl, combine 1/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce with 1/4 cup of lime  juice.

lime

**Note from Katie – We always use low-sodium soy sauce.  If not, my fingers swell like sausages and I can’t get my rings off.  Plus I think it’s just as good.

Add a tablespoon of honey….or more if you love honey like we do.

honey

Add 1/4 teaspoon of red chili flakes (or more, if you have hair on your chin).

redpepper

Add one tablespoon each of fresh minced ginger and garlic.

ginger

garlic

Also, add one tablespoon of chopped cilantro.  AND, if you’re a man, please use a meat cleaver to chop your cilantro, as it’s the only way.  No sissy knives allowed.

cilantro

Pour your marinade into a Ziploc gallon-size freezer bag and toss in your salmon filets.

ziploc

The recipe calls for this to sit for 5 minutes, but honestly, I’d let it sit for about 15.  Not too long or the lime juice will cook the fish.

Lightly oil your grill.  Grill your salmon filets for about 5 minutes per side.  I don’t like my salmon overcooked!  Also, don’t keep flipping things!  That’s how you get “stickage” on your grill.  Let it cook until it easily pulls away from your grill on one side.

grill

Remove to a plate and sprinkle with a little more cilantro.

salmonalone

Make your wife a happy, happy woman!

Thanks babe for a wonderful lunch.  I do adore you.

Katie & Mr. Wonderful’s Printable Recipe – Honey & Lime Glazed Salmon

Cooking with Love,

~Katie (& Mr. Wonderful)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Honey & Lime Glazed Salmon – Featuring Mr. Wonderful

  1. Easy recipe and also great tasting!! Hat’s off again to my wife who can cook and take pictures at the same time. This was a fun experience and I really enjoyed how the food turned out and I was able to do this without my trusty bag of Cheetos near by.

  2. NannyRuth

    That looks yummy — and the honey is from Michigan!

Leave a comment