Broccoli Garlic Pancetta Quiche

2

The other day, I began experimenting with actually using my Gourmet magazine instead of just chucking it into my Foodie Shrine Basket.

I made this yummy salad and to go alongside it – I made this quiche also.

The 2 together were fabulous!

table

Mr. Wonderful and I had an amazing Saturday lunch.

 This quiche begins by baking your crust.  If you’ve read my blog, you know at this point, I’m somewhat intimidated by pie crust.  IF you really want to make the crust that Gourmet uses, I am including it in the printable recipe.

Let’s just say I really didn’t feel like making it.  So I used my old faithful, and instead of putting it in one 9 inch pan, I put it in some ramekins for the 2 of us.  Either way, press the pie crust down into the pan(s), and go ahead and leave some of it hanging out -rustic style.  I love rustic food.  It looks so much more appealing to me than pretty, perfect food.

rawcrust

rawcrust2

Poke the bottom of the crust with a fork all over so it won’t bubble when cooking.  Gourmet recommends putting foil inside and weighing it down with beans, but I found my method worked beautifully.

And I didn’t have to waste any beans…or foil.

forkpoke

Put your pie(s) on a lined baking sheet and bake until the crust turns golden brown – about 20-25 minutes.

While that’s baking, start a medium saucepan with water to boil on the stove.  Chop up a head of broccoli into florets.  That means, not much stem and just the flowery end of the broccoli.

Also grate 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese, and peel 2 cloves of garlic.

broc cheese garlic

We need to make garlic paste.  If you love the flavor of garlic, but don’t like the crunch of biting into it, try making garlic paste.

Sprinkle some kosher salt on the garlic.

garlicpaste2

Take the flat part of a large chef’s knife and begin to smash the salt and garlic together using the edge of the knife.

garlicpaste3

garlicpaste4

garlicpaste5

Toss your broccoli florets in the boiling water for about 4 minutes.

brocpan2

After 4 minutes, drain and rinse them with cold water to stop the cooking action.

In a medium mixing bowl, crack 6 eggs.

eggs

Pour in one and one-half cups of half-and-half.

eggscream

Add 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper and a pinch of salt.

seasoning

Add in your garlic paste to the egg mixture.  Whisk it all up real good!

mix

By now, your crusts will be done.

bakedcrust

Ladle in your egg mixture, leaving room for broccoli and cheese to top them.

ladle

Carefully sprinkle a generous portion of your broccoli into the egg mixture. I chopped mine up a bit for the ramekins, but if you make the larger pie – no need.

chopbroccoli

broccoliIn

Sprinkle on your cheddar cheese.

cheeseon
Grate some Pecorino Romano or Parmesan over the top.  Both have a nice salty bite that really finishes things off well.

peccheese

peccheese2

Top with your crispy browned pancetta rounds.

pancetta

Gourmet’s recipe didn’t call for pancetta, but I made 4 extra rounds when I made the salad, so I thought it’d be a great addition.
pancettadone

Pop these into a 375º oven on your lined baking sheet for 40-45 minutes.

Let cool 20 minutes (yeah right!).

8

15

Get out your fork.  Get your honey pie.  Sit down and have a Gourmet-fabulous meal that will make you smile

16

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Coming tomorrow~

Cooking with Love,

~Katie

Leave a comment

Filed under Breakfast

Leave a comment