Pesto Veggie Frittata

By katie

final1

Sometimes, one finds one-self with a produce drawer full of half-cut-up vegetables.

If one I’m not careful, I end up with a bunch of half-cut-up vegetables with strange green fuzz growing on them.

Since my daughter Kayla returned from her Haiti mission trip (look for a future post from her), I have been ever-mindful of the way we tend to waste food and leftovers, and have been trying really hard to use up even the little scraps in new and creative ways.

I had a drawer full of red and yellow bell pepper halves, and a bunch of green onions itching to be used this Saturday.  I also went outside to find that my dear little herb garden was overflowing with basil.

basilclose

I set about to picking it, and ended up with this rather large colander of the beautiful, green, fragrant leaves. I left the roma tomato in the picture so you could see just how big this colander is.

basil

I made 3 decent-size recipes of my pesto.

pesto

Little did I know we would devour one-and-a-half of these beauties on Saturday night with our wonderful friends Melisa and Steven on homemade pizza.  Thank God for an abundance of basil, I say.

I threw all of these hodge- podge of ingredients together in a frittata.

A frittata is nothing more than a fancy name for an omelet.  Mr. Wonderful thought it seemed like a quiche with no crust.  It actually starts out just like an omelet, but instead of flipping it over, the filling is put right into the eggs and the frittata is started on the stove and finished off by popping it into the oven and served open-faced.

Now I had my skepticisms about this process.  I don’t like browned scrambled eggs and therefore, had doubts I would like it.  What I found, however, is the frittata is extremely creamy and tender and I am now hooked.

Best of all, frittatas are super easy and fast to make!

I made this in a smaller 6 1/2 inch skillet and cut in half, it was perfect for Mr. Wonderful and I’s brunch alongside some blueberry pancakes.  You could make it in whatever skillet you like, then cut it in wedges and serve just like quiche.

I started by chopping up a couple tablespoons of red and yellow bell pepper and also a couple of green onions.  I also used about  a cup or 2 of fresh spinach.

vegs

I put a tablespoon of olive oil in my skillet and turned the heat on medium.  Toss the pepper and onion into the skillet and saute them until they begin to soften.

sautevegs

Stir them around every minute or so.

sautevegs2

When they soften up a bit, (after about 5 minutes) add in your spinach. It may look like a lot, but believe me, spinach wilts down to nothing when you cook it.

spinach

This was just under a minute of my spinach sauteing.

spinachwilt

While your veggies and spinach are sweating down, mix up your eggs.

I used 4 eggs for our frittata.  If you’re using a regular 12 inch skillet, you’d probably want to go with 6-8 eggs.

Crack your eggs into a bowl.

eggs

If you were my mom, you’d remove the little white stringy things (does anyone know what those things are?)  I figure they add more protein and who has the patience to remove them anyway?

My mom does, that’s who.

Add in about 2 tablespoons of milk and whisk the whole thing up!

milk

whisk

Pour your egg mixture into your skillet right over top of your veggies.

egsspourpan

eggspan

While it’s cooking, sprinkle some cheese over the top.

cheese2

You can see in the above picture how the edges are beginning to set.  Let the mixture cook until it’s about 1/2 way cooked.  Make sure you have medium-low heat, you don’t want the bottom to burn.

Take it off the stove and dollop it with some pesto.

pestotop

I used about 3 tablespoons.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Put it on the top rack of a 400º oven for about 2-3 minutes.  Check it with a fork for doneness.  You can let it really brown up if you like.

IMPORTANT!!! Before you remove your pan from the oven – remember to use an oven mitt or towel!

I know that seems like a no-brainer, but sometimes people (I) just think…it’s a skillet, and grab it with my hands.

Did I just say that out loud?

Is this thing on? Tap…tap.

I preferred mine tender and not too overcooked, so I opted for the less-browned look.

final5

Cut it into wedges and serve it up.  Garnish with a sprinkle of your leftover veggies or some chopped basil or even a nice shaving of parmesan would be wonderful.

final7
Frittatas are fun to play with.  You can use so many varieties of toppings – asparagus, potatoes, artichoke hearts, broccoli, ham, bacon, pancetta – the possibilities are endless!

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Pesto Veggie Frittata

Have you made a frittata? What are  your favorite ingredients? I’d love to hear in the comments below!

Cooking with Love,

~Katie
Pesto on Foodista

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

10 responses to “Pesto Veggie Frittata

  1. Your Frittata looks like it came out really good, and your step by step photos are gorgeous!

  2. Hi Katie!

    I tried to find your email to send you this note, sorry to put it in your comments, but I wanted to let you know we’ve selected you as our Foodista Food Blog of the Day for this Tuesday, August 4th! Your blog for Pesto Veggie Frittata will be featured on the Foodista homepage for 24 hours. This is a new feature that we recently launched and are thrilled to post your blog.

    We are really enjoying your blog and look forward to seeing more of you on Foodista!

    Cheers,

    Melissa Peterman

    melissa@foodista.com
    Editor and Community Developer
    206.818.5724
    http://www.foodista.com
    Foodista- The Cooking Encyclopedia everyone can edit!

  3. That looks delicious!I found your blog on the foodieblogroll and I’d love to guide our readers to your site if you won’t mind.Just add your choice of foodista widget to this post and it’s all set to go, Thanks!

  4. NannyRuth

    All I can say is LOL!! Somehow I knew that was coming before it got to it! The finished product looks like something I’d like!

  5. Mom….was that baking soda or baking powder? I thought he used the later?

  6. Green onions, bacon, asparagus

  7. The fresh basil looks divine! The fritata looks delicious! I really enjoy making fritatas and have the opportunity to use farm fresh eggs-Oh my, do they puff up in the oven. Fritatas are a great idea when you have a half of this and that-it’s perfect.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • dishinanddishes

      Velva – I want farm fresh eggs! No fair!

      • Once you eat farm fresh eggs, it is all over:-) You will not be able to purchase store bought eggs without grimacing….If you have a local farmer’s market where you live, I think you will be surprised how easily accessible farm eggs will be-

  8. Fran J

    the fritata looks good. My father-in-law used to bake his scrambled eggs and would add a pinch of baking soda to fluff it up.

Leave a comment