Meet Mama Foodie

I love me some Oklahomans!

Please meet Mamie Foodie…My guest recipe poster of the day.

I knew we were soulmates when she posted this recipe of a Grilled Chicken Avocado Sandwich which is super close to my favorite sandwich of all time.

This recipe sounds yummy and healthy…Edemame Hummus…take it away Mama!

I’m out shopping for camouflage today. I need it.

There is a pesky fly buzzing around my house.

I tried standing very. still. Watching him. He landed on the window. With all of the force of my entire body, I hurled my Better Homes & Gardens at him with the intention of squashing that pesky. buzzing. fly. I missed.

I tried pretending he wasn’t bothering me. He would buzz by my head taunting me. I let him fly by a few times. I acted as if I didn’t see him. But I did. I saw him. At the very last moment I swung my arm hoping to knock him out of mid-air ending his little game forever. I missed.

Where’s Mr. Miyagi when you need him? I googled “how to hunt flies” and discovered this contraption:

The Amazing Fly Gun. This is an actual product. I’m not joking. This may just be my next Girl’s Pokeno Night gift. I know all my girlfriends are reading this and plan on watching to see how my present is wrapped next month so they are sure to pick mine.

Right? Doesn’t everyone need an Amazing Fly Gun?

Don’t worry girls- I will make up for my lousy fly gun gift with my food. Like this Edamame Hummus. Yummm!

Edamame Hummus? Is there such a thing? YES! And it is amazing!

I had Edamame Hummus for the first time a few years ago in Las Vegas with my sister. I always planned on trying to figure out to make it- but time flew by, life went on and I never experimented. Last week, I was rummaging around in the fridge for inspiration and found some fresh ginger root. I had edamame in the freezer… and a light bulb appeared over my head.

Here’s what you need:

  • Shelled Edamame (if frozen, let it thaw out)
  • Fresh Ginger Root
  • Garlic
  • Red Onion
  • Lemon
  • Flat Leaf Parsley
  • Sriracha (hot chili paste)
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt & Pepper

Get out your food processor and toss in the edamame.

My boys love edamame. Strange thing for kids to love- but it has a slight nuttiness to it, which they like. They also love to pop the edamame out of the shells. Playing with your food and not getting in trouble: always a plus!

Give the onion a head start and chop it up.

And the garlic. I love garlic, don’t you?

It’s so…

garlicky.

Zest your lemon. Use a microplane or a the teeny tiny part of a box grater.

Lemon zest is good.

Roughly chop the parsley.

Ginger.

Nothing can take the place of fresh ginger. The powdered form just doesn’t cut it.

When you see it in the market- don’t be scared. The ginger roots are HUGE! Don’t buy a 12 inch long piece of ginger root. Just break off a nub and put it in a bag. I break off pieces about the size of my pinkie finger. It ends up costing me about 15¢. What a deal!

To use: scrape the thin skin off with the BACK of a knife. It comes off so easy. Then you either finely mince or use a microplane to grate.

My microplane is MIA so I used the teeny tiny part of my box grater.

Toss the onions, garlic, lemon zest, parsley, & ginger into the food processor.

Add in olive oil.

Sriracha. Gives it a kick.

And the juice of the lemon you zested earlier. Sometimes I use 2 lemons if I want the extra zing. Watch out for those seeds! I had to dig several out. I am a sloppy juicer.

Pule. Pulse. Pulse. Whirl.

Process until you get a good consistency. I like mine to be semi-smooth with some texture.

Transfer to a serving bowl and dip using pita chips.

Now it’s your turn:

Recipe:     click here for printable recipe

Prep Time: 5 minutes     Total Time: 5 minutes   Serves: 12

Ingredients

  • 12 oz Shelled Edamame, thawed
  • 1/4 of a Red Onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Zest of 1 Lemon
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons Flat Leaf Parsley, roughly chopped
  • 1 Teaspoon fresh Ginger Root, finely grated
  • 7 Tablespoons Extra Virgin Olive Oil, more if needed for desired texture
  • 1 1/2 Teaspoons Sriracha (hot chili paste)
  • Juice from 1 to 2 Lemons, to taste
  • Kosher Salt, to taste
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Combine all ingredients into the bowl of a food processor. Pulse until desired consistency is reached. Transfer to a serving bowl & serve immediately or store in fridge until ready to serve. Suggested dippers: pita chips, tortilla chips, or crackers. Refrigerate leftovers.

click here for printable recipe

**From Katie:  Thank you Mama Foodie..for not only saving my bootie, but for giving us a yummy and healthy dip for the summer!…and let’s all hope we catch those flies.  These are seriously some of my favorite ingredients..especially the Sirachi!


2 Comments

Filed under appetizers

2 responses to “Meet Mama Foodie

  1. What a great recipe! That MamaFoodie really knows her dips!

    Thanks, Katie, for letting me be a part of your busy week!

    • dishinanddishes

      Haha! You are so awesome Mama! I can’t wait to try this recipe. Mr. Wonderful read it and said “She sounds “JUST like you!” What a compliment 🙂

Leave a Reply

