Sugar Snap Peas With a Kick -A Super Quick Side Dish

 

T

I picked up package of these the sugar snap peas the other day.

Sugar snap peas cook SUPER quick and are a fast addition to any meat dish on a week night when you just don’t have much time to cook.  I served them alongside these wonderful Tuna Steaks with Dijon Honey Mustard Sauce , which, incidentally was also very quick cooking as well.

Drizzle a little olive oil into a pan, maybe around 1 tablespoon. 

Then press in or just mince up 2 cloves of garlic. If you feel really adventurous, add in 1/4 teaspoon or just a pinch of red pepper flakes.

Put this over medium heat for just about a minute, letting the garlic flavor the oil and get all golden and happy.

Then add in your sugar snap peas.

Pour in one tablespoon of light soy sauce.  I always use light soy sauce.  Regular makes my fingers swell up the size of a baseball bat.

 

Then add in 1 teaspoon of sesame oil. I prefer the darker brown toasted sesame oil, if you can find it.

Almost every grocery store carries sesame oil, in one form or the other in the Asian aisle.

Toss this all up with some tongs.

Leave these over the heat for maybe a minute, two at the most.  And then remove to a plate and sprinkle with some toasted sesame seeds.

Now that wasn’t so hard was it? 

I love the crunch and the sweetness of these little babies.  And the time factor is a plus we all need!

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Sugar Snap Peas with a Kick!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Sugar Snap Peas With a Kick -A Super Quick Side Dish

  1. I am so glad I stumbled upon your blog as this recipe looks delicious!
    I will definately be trying it out, thank you
    🙂

  2. bunny

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE sugar snap peas! I will be trying this one!

  3. I love cooking vegetables with soy sauce – have you tried cooking them with soy sauce and mirin? Mirin is a sort of mild Japanese cooking wine, with a sweet taste. Last night I sliced up an onion, softened it, then added about 1/3-1/2 cup mixture of soy sauce and mirin. I thought it was too salty so I added more mirin… turns out it didn’t need any. Try it! The final product is sort of just like caramelised onions, with a sweet note. 🙂

Leave a Reply

