Oklahoma and Tornados…Always Hand in Hand

In Oklahoma, we are used to seeing things like this….

We are used to seeing things like this on our TV screen for an entire evening.

I mean, all progamming is pre-empted.  You’ll miss your weekly show for sure. 

We’re used to that.

You probably saw on the news last night that we had tornadoes everywhere around us.  I think 31 were reported, and so that probably means there were really 20 or so.  If you consider that several of them were probably the same tornado reported, there is no telling how many actually occurred. 

Oklahoma City, which is where I live, has an official reporting of 6 I think.

This is the part we never get used to…

Or this…


We don’t like to see any of these sites…

Here are a few pictures that my sister-in-law Cheryl took from her house in South Oklahoma City.  She got hammered by hail in the 4 inch range (baseball size).

Five casualties were reported in the metro area as of this  morning.  Many people (I’ve heard 30,000) are still out of power.  Fifty some dwellings were destroyed.

No, we really never get used to us.  Say a prayer for Oklahoma today.

There are those who need it.

12 Comments

Filed under Oklahoma

12 responses to “Oklahoma and Tornados…Always Hand in Hand

  1. You did a great job sharing about the tornadoes that hit here.

    OKC area was definitely the worst hit area. The Tulsa area was spared.

    My inlaws live in Lexington, OK (S. of Norman). I’m not sure if their power is even back on yet. They have a motor home that they’ve been staying in.
    My dad’s truck received really bad hail damage and now I see why after seeing the picture of the huge hail! Wow!!!

    I hope this wasn’t a sign of the weather we are going to have this season.

  2. Oh no… I grew up in the Dallas area so t-storms, hail, and tornadoes are not new to me either but the aftermath is never easy. Sending up prayers for OK!

  3. That hais storm was something else. I’d never seen any that big before. We also have one guy at work that totally lost his house. a few others with signifcant damage. We’ll just lift them up in prayer.

  4. I got here through Beth’s blog… just found out about the tornados an hour or so ago. I am definitely praying for everyone as well… I’ve been fortunate to not have to live through a tornado but have seen the aftermath of several… praying for all who were impacted by the tornadoes and all who are helping with the recovery.

  5. WOW. Those are some unbelievable images. We are no stranger to tornados here in IA, but wow. STAY SAFE down there.

    alicia

  6. I came to your blog from the Prairie Maid. I had no idea all this had happened. Stay safe and God bless.

  7. Oh my, I followed the link from Cheryl. Lifting you all up in prayers.

    Regards. x

  8. Pingback: Oklahoma and Tornados

  9. Going to link to you if that’s okay. I wasn’t feeling well so I went to bed really early and just slept through most of it. I had no idea how bad it was until just now. It’s always shocking, isn’t it? Praying for those who are suffering today …

  10. I just linked to you this morning.;)

  11. This is devastating. I’m definitely praying for Oklahoma… Stay strong! You’ll survive.

    Wei-Wei

Leave a Reply

