A Trip to India

 

See that young lady in the back row, last one on the right?

That’s my daughter Kayla and today she leaves at 2:10 P.M to travel 13 hours to Hyderabad, India for a Worship Missions trip.

Do you know geography? India is surrounded by China, and (gulp) Afghanistan and Pakistan.  Thank heavens they’ll be in SOUTH CENTRAL India.

Worship missions are music teams that travel around ministering to different areas in need.  My daughter will be playing the drums (she also plays guitar, but not for this trip).

These kids have been praying and excited for this trip for the better part of the school year.   They can’t wait to get started.  This past week they spent an intense week in training, going through scenarios specific to the country and culture. They were taught spiritual training as well as respect for the culture.  Very important to me, they were taught about staying together as a group.

They will be ministering in several areas and villages around Hyderabad, including the slums (Did you see Slumdog?), orphanages, churches, HIV/AIDS homes, and one day they’ll even be in a prostitute village.  They’ll also help in a medical camp.

I would absolutely love and appreciate your prayers for this awesome team (and mom too!) during the next 40 days. 

Yes, you heard me correctly – FORTY days.  I won’t be able to speak to her on the phone, but they will have internet access and be able to check in occasionally on Facebook and e-mail. 

If you’d like to help support them in prayer, I’ve created a Facebook group that you can join.

ORU Team India Prayer Support Group
I’d love for you to join up with us in support!

Forty days is a long time for a Mom, ya know…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “A Trip to India

  1. 40 days…. WOW!
    absolutely… will pray!

  2. Hi Katie!

    I was going to ask what day Kayla was leaving and here I find your post. Kayla and the entire team will be in my prayers, along with those of two prayer groups I belong to.

    Would you mind if I put a request for prayer on my blog? There are some real prayer warriors who stop by from time to time.

    I know how hard it is to turn lose and “let” kids go on trips like this, but it is so worth it! I don’t care where Kayla is spiritually, she will grow and increase during this trip like never before. You will be amazed! Of course, then you and Mr. Wonderful will want to pack up and join a mission team because of the awesome experiences and stories she is going to share once she is back.;)

    • dishinanddishes

      Cheryl ABSOLUTELY! Go ahead and thank you for the prayers! Mr. Wonderful and I have both been on missions trips! They ARE life-changing!

  3. Wow, hope Kayla has fun! India sounds awesome 😀 I’ll be praying for them for sure! 🙂

    Wei-Wei

Leave a Reply

