Poblano Grilled Potatoes

Have you heard me mention that I absolutely love Poblano peppers before? If not, let me tell you, they are one of my new favorite vegetables.  I have practically thrown out green peppers and subsituted these babies instead.  Grilling up fajitas? Try using these instead of green peppers.  They are fantastic grilled or sauteed to release their mild heat and flavor. 

While cleaning up some files in my computer, I found some pictures and this recipe that I’d made awhile back and decided to share it with you.

It’s best to remove the stem, seeds and membrane from the inner part of the poblano to lessen the heat content.  Don’t be fooled into thinking you can touch your eyes after this.  They’re not that mild!

Chunk up some red potatoes.  If they’re large, I count one for each female and 2 for each male that will be eating.  Cut them into 1 inch cubes.

Now cut up your poblanos.  Cut off the stem end.  Cut the pepper in half longways.  Pull out the seeds and membranes and cut each half into long thin slices.  Then rotate them and cut at a 90º angle and slice them into small squares.

Also cut up one medium onion.

Drizzle some olive oil into a skillet and let it get hot.  Add the potatoes, poblano and onion into the skillet.  Sprinkle on some salt, pepper and garlic powder.  I’ve also added a couple garlic cloves, minced up fine to this, but don’t add the garlic until about 5 minutes before the potatoes are done or it’ll burn.

Cook over medium-high heat, stirring frequently until the potatoes are tender inside and browned and crisping on the outside.  The peppers and onions should be soft.

Serve these alongside a nice grilled steak or chicken breast or even hamburgers.  They’re so good and yummy.  Truly a southwest flavor explosion for a side dish!

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Poblano Grilled Potatoes

3 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

3 responses to “Poblano Grilled Potatoes

  1. Wow! I never thought of using poblano peppers as a substitute for green pepper. What a great idea!

  2. That looks wonderful! I already have the potatoes…just need a pepper now.

    Thanks for the new idea to spice it up a bit!

    ~Kim

  3. Mmmmm – this looks so good. I wish my hubby liked potatoes better because I would so be making this!

    BTW – I am so sorry I forgot to add your blog to my list. I made the correction immediately once I figured it out : )

Leave a Reply

