Simple Roasted Vegetable Medley

Have you seen the new food pyramid lately?

I don’t know how I measure up on the food chart with keeping up with all these servings. I can tell you that if I ate 6-11 servings of bread, cereal, rice and pasta, you’d have to roll me out the door.

I have to tell you –  I love vegetables.

Seriously.

Love them!

Here’s an easy way to get your 3-5 servings/day of them.

Roast them.

Get your favorite vegetables.  Today I used broccoli, carrots, poblano peppers, red potatoes, and zucchini.

In the past I’ve used parsnips, brussels sprouts, sweet potatoes, onions and whole garlic cloves (which are to die for).   Roasting intensifies the flavor of the vegetables, and unlike boiling them, retains much of the nutritional value as well.

Line a pan with foil, and chunk up some veggies.  Keep in mind that your denser vegetables like potatoes and carrots need longer to cook than say, zucchini.  I put all of these in except the zucchini.  Just chunk them up, toss them on a cookie sheet, drizzle them with olive oil (be generous), sprinkle with salt and pepper and add a seasoning.  Tonight I used oregano and lemon pepper.  I was going for a Mediterranean flair.  Rosemary is fabulous too.

Turn your oven on fairly high.  I used 425º and roasted the veggies for about 20 minutes, removed the pan and added my zucchini and roasted for another 10 minutes.  Grill up some chicken or a steak, and you’ve got a complete meal.

And you’ve conquered a wedge of that nasty food pyramid.

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Roasted Vegetable Medley

Have a question or comment? I’d love to hear them! Leave one in the form below!

2 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

2 responses to “Simple Roasted Vegetable Medley

  1. This looks delicious!! I love to grill my veggies and roast them too!!!

  2. This is not the kind of food I crave…but I have to tell you it was great! It would have been over-the-hill if there were some chips around the edge of my plate.

Leave a Reply

