Keeping it Real – Fails in Food Blogging? And an Appetizer if You Want it…

It’s the first day of a new year.

2010.

Let’s just begin this year with complete honesty.   Food blogging isn’t always the pristine beautiful final shot of gourmet food that ends up on the page you read.

Sometimes the blogger is surrounded by a kitchen full of mess.  Sometimes eggs are mistakenly cracked  on the floor,  and the KitchenAid mixer swirls out of control. while flour is not thrown only on the bloggers face and clothes, but on the cabinets overhead also.  Does this sound like personal experience?

I  can tell you I recently wiped a small spatter of sweet potato puree off the ceiling.

Hey, food bloggers are human, just like the rest of you!

Especially this food blogger.

I made these appetizers recently.  I found them in my new Pampered Chef Easy & Impressive Appetizer Recipes Cookbook.  I made them for Christmas Day actually.  I think they were a failure but I’m not sure. I thought they were okay, but I’m one of those people who has yet to find a food I dislike, so I have to go by the leftovers still in a baggie in the Fridgidaire.

Sun-Dried Tomato & Goat Cheese Puffs.

But maybe kids under 25 don’t appreciate those tastes?

The sound of these sent my taste buds spinning.  I could just see them perched cutely and evenly spaced along a long rectangular Hors d’oevre platter, their tantalizing filling bursting out of the top of fluffy little biscuits, light as air.

Hmmmm.

Here’s how it went.

I heated some water, butter and thyme and tossed in a little salt and pepper in a saucepan.  Then I let it come to a boil and added some flour.

Upon adding the flour, I stirred vigorously until it pulled away from the sides of the pan, about one minute.    It kind of forms a ball of sorts, that’s when you know it’s ready.  Spoon it into a bowl and crack in some eggs.  Stir again like crazy until everything is nice and smooth.

I had a kitchen towel under a glass bowl in these pictures.  Looks kinda strange…

Spray a mini-muffin pan with baking spray.  Scoop some dough into each one and bake for 22-25 minutes or until they tops turn a golden brown. Remove from the oven and cut a small slit in the top of each puff.

In another bowl, mix some goat cheese, cream cheese and milk until smooth, stir in some sun dried tomatoes that you’ve finely chopped.  Spoon this mixture into a pastry bag or a ziploc with the end snipped off and pipe down into the center of each puff where you’re cut the slit.

Tada.  The finished product.

My take?

I liked them.  But I also adore the twang of goat cheese, and I can eat sun-dried tomatoes straight out of the jar. I am a foodie and I love gourmet tastes and textures.

Our kids? They like the pop in the oven appetizers you buy at Sam’s Wholesale like Bagel Bites.

Perhaps I need to try them again on a more foodie defined audience?  One thing I’m not a fan of – thyme.  For some reason, it’s not my spice – maybe some nice basil next time to compliment the tomato flavor?

Any suggestions?

I think this is a fail…what do you think?

Katie’s Printable Recipe- Sun-Dried Tomato & Goat Cheese Puffs

~Katie

4 Comments

Filed under appetizers

4 responses to “Keeping it Real – Fails in Food Blogging? And an Appetizer if You Want it…

  1. You lost me on the cheese (dairy issues) but it looks great! And I love the part about us cooks not being perfect… so true.. so true!

    Happy New Year!

  2. Yeah, kids and some males don’t count! 🙂 I say then have a do-over with adults. Serve lots of wine with…wine makes everything taste better! LOL

  3. Hmmm…would you hate me if I say “fail?” Only because if your “guests” (i.e. anyone but you) won’t eat it, it probably would qualify as a fail.

    However, the CONCEPT of this dish is great–here’s what I am thinking: Leave thyme out of the batter and just make it “plain.” And for the piping…what about cream cheese mixed with a fruit preserve like cherry, raspberry or even pumpkin butter? Or for savory, maybe cream cheese with the sundried tomato. I think the issue is cutting the “pungency” by including just one strong flavor. That’s my thoughts–hope they help/inspire!

    • dishinanddishes

      NO, I think I agree with you. Just wasn’t sure cuz the guests were kids and they don’t like the more refined food like foodies usually do?

Leave a Reply

