A Cooking Year in Review

by Katie

As I sit at my desk this morning, looking out the window at my snowy capped front yard, it’s hard to believe that I started this blogging adventure almost 9 months ago.

It’s fun to look back and see how my photography has progressed and just how many different things I’ve cooked or baked.

I’ve also rediscovered a few things I need to make again!   One of the downfalls of a cooking blogger – you seem to only make things once and then you just keep looking for new recipes!

Here’s a look at my collection from this year.  I hope you see something you’d like to try.

Appetizers.

My breads.

Then there were breakfasts.  Glorious, no-time-contstraint, Saturday breakfasts.

And the desserts…ahhhhh the desserts.

It was a big surprise to me that I didn’t do many desserts!

Mental note for 2010. “Make more desserts!”

“Just don’t eat them.”

Yeah, that’s gonna happen.

Then came the Main Dishes.  There were a lot of them.  First, just so you can compare, my really bad photography days.

Then there were better shots, but the food was really equally as good.

Sides.  Do you just love side-dishes?  Take Thanksgiving, for instance.  Who cares about turkey anyway? I just love the sides!

I hope you all take note that there were more salads instead of desserts this year..

That’s gotta mean something right?

And drinks…there were very few.  Mostly because I drink water, iced tea and coffee…I need to work on that..

It’s amazing to look back and see how many old and new recipes I’ve posted.  It’s also amazing the new people I’ve met, the readers I’ve heard from, and the fun I’ve had cooking and creating.

And what fun would this year have been without good friends and family to share it with?

I mean, isn’t that the point of food creation? To please those you love and share good conversation in the kitchen while bumping hips with those who are chopping and prepping with you?

I love that our house is centered around entertaining friends, family and loved ones.  I love it when my kids or friends and I hang out in the kitchen and talk and laugh.

For looking back on the year, each recipe reminds of a time I enjoyed it with someone I love.  I reflect on not only how good the food was, but how good the company was I kept.

Happy New Year Everyone!  May you cook this year with someone you love.  May you chop veggies with someone as you yak in the kitchen.  And you may your year be as wonderful and blessed as mine was.

Love,

~Katie

3 Comments

Filed under Family

3 responses to “A Cooking Year in Review

  1. Fran J

    wonderful year, wonderful dishes. Have a new year request for a friend – crockpot dishes.

  2. Cool! Can’t wait to browse through these when I have more time.

  3. It’s been a delicious 9 months….thanks Katie.

Leave a Reply

