Mussels in White Wine Garlic Sauce – Mr. Wonderful’s Favorite Meal for Two

This is something I did the other night.  Mr. Wonderful was working late.  I didn’t know what to fix him.  The kids were gone.  What resulted has had him talking ever since.

I had a bag of frozen mussels in the freezer left over from our Crab Boil for Chris’ birthday.

I started with 2 tablespoons of olive oil and 2 tablespoons of butter.  Put them in a pot and let the butter melt and the olive oil heat up.  Swirled the pot around a bit and let them get nice and cozy together.

Chopped up one-half a large onion pretty fine.  Also chopped up 3 cloves of garlic – again pretty fine.

Tossed them into the pot with the olive oil and butter.

Cook them low -you don’t want them to brown, just get nice and transluscent and soft.

Add one cup of white wine.

I also added 1/2 teaspoon of dried thyme.

Then I mixed all of this together and dumped in a pound of mussels.  I buy them frozen at Wal-Mart.  It’s what we have to do in the southwest.  Please don’t judge us non-oceanic people.  But we have incredible beef out here.

Can I just stop for a minute and tell you… when we do a crab boil, I don’t really care for mussels.  In this recipe, I actually like them….it’s all in the sauce I think.

Stir the mussels into the sauce and pop the lid on.

Cook for about 8-10 minutes on medium-low heat.  Any mussel that doesn’t open, you want to throw away.  They’re bad I tell ya…BAD! Toss em!

While that’s cooking, take a loaf of your favorite crusty bread and put it into the oven to warm.  I put mine right on the oven rack at 350º for about 8 minutes.  It’s perfect.

Now take your mussel pot and pour the whole mess, broth and all into a bowl.

Take your crusty bread and slice it.  Place it around the outside of the bowl.

You could serve this with a salad and it’s a nice light meal for two.

Or serve it as an appetizer.

Either way, I know it makes Mr. Wonderful happy.

If it makes him happy, I’m happy.

And I kind of like it myself.

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Mussels in White Wine Garlic Sauce

Cooking with Love,

~Katie
Mussel on Foodista

6 Comments

Filed under Meats and Main Dishes

6 responses to “Mussels in White Wine Garlic Sauce – Mr. Wonderful’s Favorite Meal for Two

  1. Pingback: Pasta Carbonara Casarecce- The Dish That Got Mr. Wonderful’s Stamp of Approval « Dishin and Dishes

  2. suki

    Do you defrost the mussels first?

  3. Bought a bag of mussels at Wal-mart on a whim, came home and googled….this recipe popped up. After a next day trip to get garlic I made this for dinner. I have to admit I ate most of them but my uber picky hubby enjoyed the dish. Thanks!

  4. Mr. Wonderful made out like a fat wharf cat! Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I added this site to my favorites so I can trick a sour puss into thinking he’s Mr. Wonderful. Keep your fingers crossed, maybe it’ll work.

    From: An Ex-Seasider who can never find anything good to eat inland.

Leave a Reply

