Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

4

I remember as a kid, my folks getting these strange, round-shaped beans on their salad.  I can’t even remember if I liked them or not, but I always wondered about the name of them – chickpeas.  I think I may have thought they were the eggs of baby chicks or something.   I’m not sure, but the name was always a little weird to me.

Now that I’m grown-up, I’ve found a new love for chickpeas and now know them by a different name- garbanzo Beans.  Now that I’m grown-up, I also know that they are incredibly good for you and high in protein.

We have a local restaurant here called Zorba’s.  Mr. Wonderful and I eat there every once in awhile, and somewhat like a ritual, I order the same thing every time -A side order of hummus, a side order of tabbouleh, and some of their fresh-baked flat bread.

Mr. Wonderful, being a red-blooded man, cannot for the life of him figure out why I don’t get some kind of meat, for it abounds in Mediterranean eateries.  Tender grilled thin slices of lamb or chicken are there for the taking.

But I’m happy with hummus.

Now, I’ve made what you’d call the classic hummus recipe before, but I have been wanting to experiment with a little twist on the ordinary, and decided that sun-dried tomatoes were going to play a major role in this creation. Oh yeah, and roasted garlic as well.

Before I begin, if you are an avid hummus expert, you will note the absence of tahini in my recipe.  Tahini is a paste made out of sesame seeds and it is delicious in classic hummus.

# 1 – I couldn’t find any at 3 different stores.

#2 – I worked over 60 hours this week.

#3 – the flavors in this are so bold, you won’t notice it anyway!

I began by roasting a whole head of garlic.  Roasting garlic is a piece of cake (although a little smellier than cake).  Simply cut just a bit off the the top of the garlic head  and put it on a piece of foil, exposing the raw garlic.

garliconfoil

Drizzle the top with about 2 teaspoons of olive oil.

pouroil

Pull the foil up around the garlic, and squeeze it shut at the top to create a tent around the garlic head.

foiltent

Stick the foil pouch into a 350º oven for about 30-40 minutes.  When it’s finished, it will be all browned and caramelized and yummy looking.  Let it cool a bit, and then just squeeze the entire head of garlic with your hands into a bowl.

squeezegarlic

garlicroasted

Yes your hands will get messy.  Have fun with it! You can wash them later.

Dump your garlic into your food processor.

Yes the entire head.  It doesn’t pack as strong bite as when it’s raw…trust me!

garlicprocess

Here are your next two ingredients.

beanstom

Two cans of Garbanzo Beans (or chickepeas) and one 8 oz. jar of sun-dried tomatoes packed in olive oil.

Rinse and drain your Garbanzo Beans.

drainchick
Add them to your food processor to join the roasted garlic cloves.  Also dump in your sun-dried tomatoes(oil included) .

tom

I love sun-dried tomatoes , so I added the whole jar.  If you like just a little of the sun-dried tomato flavor, play around and find the level you like by starting with a few tablespoons, and adding more, if desired.

Next add one entire lemon, zested and juiced.  This gives it the Mediterranean zing and just a nice freshness.

zesting

zest

zestinproclemon

The funny thing was, I almost forgot to add the lemon, and had to add it at the end.  So you will see in the picture, I have my hummus already processed somewhat.  No worries though as the order doesn’t matter that you add the ingredients, just let the processer do the work for you.

Put in one teaspoon of salt and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper.  The cayenne just gives it a little something special. It’s not really spicy at all.

pepper

Now put the lid on your food processor, and give it a whir for a minute to begin to break up the garbanzo beans and tomatoes.

process

Drizzle about 1/4 cup of olive oil slowly into the mash, while continuing to process.

oil

You are looking for a consistency a little thicker than peanut butter.  Your hummus should be thick and spreadable, and not pourable.

humusconsistAt Zorba’s, they always bring the hummus out with a little olive oil drizzled over the top and sprinkled with some chopped parsley.

9

Flat bread is readily available now at most grocery stores.  Ours have several varieties like whole grain orwheat  to choose from.  Warm some in the oven or lightly toast it in a skillet.  Cut it into wedges and serve alongside this yumminess.

Or you can use crackers, bagel toast or even plain ol’ tortilla chips.  Whichever way you prefer, you will love spreading this hummus over top.

12

It’s goodness in a bowl.

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

Cooking with Love,

~Katie
Sun Dried Tomatoes on Foodista
Hummus on Foodista

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sun Dried Tomato Hummus

  1. Fran J

    don’t know if I’d like chickpeas, but would try this on a piece of toast (small one).

Leave a Reply

