Rosemary Roasted Potato Salad

Tonight was one of the only nights this week I actually cooked anything.  I mean it’s been a crazy hectic week around here and it’s going to get worse before it gets better.  My parents arrived today for a week and amidst getting the house ready, we moved our youth pastors into their new apartment and celebrated Mother’s Day early with my mom-in-law.

We were having “picnic food”.  I was put in charge of potato salad.  This is my absolute favorite recipe ever for potato salad.  

Instead of boiling the potatoes, you roast them first, then mix up a dressing for them seasoned with rosemary and garlic.  Then you sigh and enjoy the comforting creamy and roasted bites of potato and swear to never boil your potatoes again.

Begin by drizzling a foiled line baking sheet with olive oil.  Use around 1/4 cup but kind of eyeball it.  

oilpan

Next quarter 2 pounds of small red potatoes.

quartered

Place them on your cookie sheet, and salt and pepper them well.  Using your hands, smoosh the potatoes around until they are completely coated with the olive oil.

salt

That’s my mom holding the salt.  She didn’t want to be photographed but just wait…later this week she’ll make her famous light rye bread and strawberry freezer jam for me and I will get pictures of more than her hands!

Place your cookie sheet in a 400 degree oven for around 30-40 minutes.  You want your potatoes to be fork-tender but just starting to brown on the outside.  

Meanwhile, in the bottom of your bowl, you can make the dressing.  

Start by chopping up 2 tablespoons of fresh rosemary.  

rosemary

Add 1 cup of mayonaisse and I beg you to use real mayo in this recipe.  Just promise yourself to climb 3 flights of stairs 20 or so times like I did today…you’ll be fine.

 Add 1 tablespoon dijon mustard, 1/2 teaspoon sugar, 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon freshly cracked black pepper.  

sauce

Whisk or stir this all together really well.  Chop 1/2 cup onion.  Add to your bowl.  Finely chop up 2 cloves of garlic.  Add to the bowl as well.

When your potatoes come out of the oven, let them cool completely and dump over the dressing mixtured.  Toss to completely coat all the potatoes.  Taste and adjust your seasonings.

You will love this version of potato salad. I promise.  Just remember those stairs….

Katie’s Printable Recipe – Rosemary Roasted Potato Salad

4 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

4 responses to “Rosemary Roasted Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Dreaming of Spring Gardening « Dishin and Dishes

  2. My mouth is watering…I cannot wait to make this! Just have to run to the store and pick up some mayo! Maybe I should actually run then I won’t feel guilty about eating it…wait, I wouldn’t feel guilty anyway 🙂

    • dishinanddishes

      Callie – you will love it! And yes – just walk REAL fast thru the grocery store aisles…then you won’t feel guilty at all!

  3. This is the best potato salad. I usually do not care for the ‘typical’ potato salad recipe, but this one is delicious! Worth running on a treadmill for.

Leave a Reply

