Leftover Pasta Dilemna – Grilled Chicken and Spring Veggie Pasta

plateside

Last nite at our house, it was our usual Monday night hosting of 20 plus teenagers.  I am always trying to come up with something to feed them that will feed a crowd but not break my wallet.  Last night’s fare was spaghetti.  

I am going to tell you something that will make you think I am a freak.  I don’t like spaghetti sauce.  I know, I know, everyone likes spaghetti sauce right? 

Not me.   

Never have.  

Nor do I like pizza sauce.  For those of you who are ready to write me off and say I’m un-American or something, I’m sorry, for gosh sakes!

 It’s the way I’ve always been.  Besides, marinara sauce is Italian anyway, and I adore pesto and alfredo sauce, so that kind of redeems me.

This is my son Conner and his adorable girlfriend Caitlyn.  We remind Conner daily that he better treat her right.  She’s a sweetie!

connercaitlyn1

Last night Caitlyn asked me if we had any olive oil.  Her daddy is a chef.  You know what she did? She dumped it on the plain pasta along with some parmesan cheese and italian spice.  It was pretty darn good!

This morning I drove home for lunch and found this in my refrigerator.

pastanew

 

I immediately thought of  what Caitlyn did and decided to try my hand at dressing up some plain pasta.  Follow along with what I did.

veg2

I checked out my veggie drawer and found I had some spring onions, an orange bell pepper, some fresh garlic and some asparagus laying around just doing nothing.  I also went out to my backyard and picked some fresh basil leaves.  I was really disappointed because I was out of sun-dried tomatoes (in oil) and I think that would have made this dish pretty darn near perfect.  Fresh diced tomatoes would be fabulous also.

veg1

I chopped everything up but the basil and tossed it in about 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium high heat in a non-stick skillet.

saute

Then I scrounged back around in the refrigerator and found some leftover grilled chicken and sliced it thin.  It joined its veggie friends in the skillet as well.

saute2

I continued sauteing until the vegetables were just starting to soften, about 5-6 minutes.  

Meanwhile, I drizzled a tiny bit of oil over my pasta, stirred it around a bit in the bowl, and microwaved it for about 3 minutes to get it nice and hot.

pastatop

I dumped my veggie-chicken mixture right over top of it.  Then I grabbed my lovely Microplane grater and some parmesan-reggiano cheese and grated a nice pile overtop.

cheesegrate1

cheesegrate2

cheesetop

Mmmmm…look at the beauty of that cheese.  Everyone loves it…except my sis-in-law Cheryl who hates cheese.  

I wish I had that problem.  My backside would look tiny like hers.

Now chiffonade or slice up some fresh basil and toss it on with the cheese.

cheesebasil

Hello Mr. Cheese, meet and marry Mrs. Basil…a match made in heaven.

Toss everything together with a pair of tongs or 2 forks and pile it onto a plate.  Hmmm…this would be fantastic with a side of my bruschetta.

platemiddles

Dig your fork in and get a big twirl of this yummy goodness.  

And this my friends, is what you do with leftover pasta.  It took about 15 minutes and …

was gone in about 2!

Cooking with Love,

~Katie
Pesto on Foodista

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Leftover Pasta Dilemna – Grilled Chicken and Spring Veggie Pasta

  1. That looks like a super combination. I’m sure you will have people asking you to make it again. And it looks way better than a store bought sauce. Congrats!

  2. dishinanddishes

    Cheryl. I love pesto on anything also! It’s great on sandwiches. Lyndsay J. gave us a recipe that I put on here for a wrap with pesto also! I am waiting on my basil to get big enough to start making it! Love the stuff! But, I gotta have the cheese..doggone it!

  3. Cheryl

    That looks pretty good Katie….except for the cheese of course! haha.
    I love mixing pasta with whatever I have on hand. I’ve come up with so many varieties. I’m still full from dinner, but that looks yummy now.
    I also keep some homemade basil pesto on hand(cheeseless of course), just in case I have extra pasta. I even put it on chicken paninis.

Leave a Reply

