Asian Noodle Salad

salad10

Mmmmmmmmmm….this salad is…yum, yum, yummmmmy!

As you may know, Mr. Wonderful and I are back to the gym and trying to eat healthy.  I am constantly looking for recipes to try to fit in that category.  This salad is so good, you won’t even know it’s healthy.  

I saw this salad on Pioneer Woman’s site. If you want to see more detailed instruction on how to prepare it, hop on over there.  It is originally done by Jamie Oliver, who is my vegetable hero.  He makes dishes that are full of flavor and veggies that are grown in his backyard.  I’ve always wondered if it’s his real backyard or his TV backyard…but this salad is delicious all the same.  Add some grilled chicken or asian marinated flank steak, and you have a meal.

The Ingredients of Love:  Linguine noodles, napa cabbage, purple cabbage, spinach, red, yellow and orange peppers, green onions, bean sprouts, cucumbers, cilantro, cashews, lime, olive oil, sesame oil, soy sauce, brown sugar, fresh ginger, garlic, fresh jalepeno

Yes, that is a LOT of ingredients but the cabbage keeps forever and the rest will just become a staple in your kitchen.  I adapted the ingredients in the following way.  

I switched out shaved almonds for the cashews.  I also omitted the cucumbers.  I don’t know why…i just did.  It didn’t seem right.  In the spirit of health, I substituted wheat spaghetti noodles for the linguine.  Soba would be fantastic if you can find them.  I live in Oklahoma, and couldn’t make it to the Asian market and Oklahoma markets don’t generally carry anything other than plain old noodles so wheat was the best I could do!  I also only used red and orange peppers.

 Don’t you love it when someone gives you a recipe, then tells you they totally changed it?

Anyway, on to the salad!

Bring one regular size package of linguine or wheat spaghetti to a boil and finish cooking according to package directions.  Drain and rinse to cool.  This is a cold salad, hot noodles are not allowed.

Finely slice your cabbages.  First the Napa.  I did about 4 cups of each.  This made a pretty big salad, so adjust accordingly.  You don’t have to be precise.

napa 

Then the purple.  

purple

Rinse your spinach. I used again, about 4 cups.

spinach

Slice up thinly, a red and orange bell pepper.

peppers

Pretend like you see a chopped cucumber, bean sprouts, and some sliced green onions.  I don’t have pictures of those…nor the chopped cilantro.  I love cilantro so I used an entire bunch in this salad.  I threw some in the salad and more into the dressing.  

Dump all your ingredients into a large bowl, including your noodles.  

Make your dressing.  In a mixing bowl, whisk together the juice of 1 lime, 1/3 c. olive oil, 1-3 T. sesame oil (this stuff is strong – I use one), 1/3 c. soy sauce, 1/3 c. brown sugar, 3 T. fresh grated ginger, 2 cloves of garlic and a jalepeno finely chopped.  Adjust the pepper according to how hot you can handle things.  Add about 1/3 c. chopped cilantro and whisk.

dressing 

Pour dressing over salad.  If you want to make ahead of time, don’t add the cilantro until the last minute.  Mix it all up so everything is coated in the dressing.  Sprinkle your choice of nuts overtop.

salad2

Change your mind about the chinese spoon and get the chopsticks.

salad7

I have a confession, I can NOT use chopsticks for the life of me, but they looked cool in the picture.  Jason and Lindsay bought me cheater chopsticks that look like a giant clothespin and I can use those.

I’m telling you, this salad is so doggone good, it will be gone in no time.  I can’t wait to make it again.

salad51

Cooking with Love,

~Katie

Printable Recipe – Asian Noodle Salad

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Asian Noodle Salad

  1. Yum! I’m always interested in new recipes that fit & healthy. Thanks for bringing this one to my attention.

Leave a Reply

